Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) provides general scientific guidance to the Project Management Team in line with the AGRODEP's capacity-building mission in Africa. Specifically, the Board provides advice on the scientific topics and approaches that should be considered by the Consortium, institutions in and outside Africa that can contribute to AGRODEP objectives, scientific pertinence of research projects developed by AGRODEP members, and improvements and/or innovations on analytical methodologies. The Board consists of ten members who are experts from the economic research and policy community with an outstanding international reputation as well as knowledge of African countries and the major challenges that they face. SAB is co-chaired by Maximo Torero, International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) and Bernard Decaluwe, Poverty and Economic Policy (PEP) Research Network.


Maximo Torero
Division Director
Market, Trade and Institutions Division
International Food Policy Research Institute (Co-Chair)

Augustin Kwasi Fosu
Institute of Statistical, Social and Economic Research
University of Ghana, Legon, Ghana

Bernard Decaluwe
Program Director
Modeling and Policy Impact Analysis
Poverty and Economic Policy (PEP) Research Network (Co-Chair)

Jane Kabubo-Mariara
Associate Director

School of Economics
University of Nairobi, Kenya

David Olusanya Ajakaiye
Executive Director of Research
African Centre for Shared Development Capacity Building (ACSDCB)

Johann Kirsten
Professor and Head of Department
Department of Agricultural Economics, Extension and Rural Development
University of Pretoria, South Africa 

Hubert Escaith
Chief Statistician
Economic Research and Statistics Division
World Trade Organization (WTO) 

Will Martin
Research Manager
Agriculture and Rural Development, Development Research Group
World Bank

Erica Field
Department of Economics
Duke University


David Zilberman

Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics
University of California at Berkeley